Objects as History, make up week – 13th April, 2020.

(Ms. Malvika Mahidhar)

Discussion about the Mughal Empire took place with respect to the previous class.
I had my element as art (paintings not included). Every one discussed their own observations. Someone talked about how domes were an important signature architectural design which I had observed too while looking for my final object as well.

Apart from that, I think Gold was something they used a lot in jewelery and it also depicted royalty. So did motifs of elephants. There was immense use of flowers and animals in almost every artifact i came across as well. Their way of making objects is very distinguishable if you look at objects from other empires.

As this was the last class of this semester, sitting there in front of the screen I asked myself “Do I like history, now?” I said yes.
“Will I study it ahead?” – Yes, again. Looking forward to more weirdly interesting objects ahead!

Leave a comment